Wednesday, February 23, 2011

"I'm in love"

Three words that mean the world to people. "I'm in Love".  Sadly, these three words may also be the most wrongly used words in the English language.
First off, us Americans tend to use the word "love" pretty loosely.  "Oh, I love that top!" "Oh, I love that TV show!"  "Oh!  I love that band!"  Do you?  Do you really?  Chances are, you just like it.  Would you give your favorite TV show your kidney?  I didn't think so.
Secondly, nothing bugs me more than when I hear someone at school say "I'm in love with my boyfriend!"  Do you really think you are going to get married?  In my opinion, there are only two people in the world that you will be "in love" with.  1) Jesus 2)Your future husband.  Maybe you are one of the few who marries their high school sweetheart and stays with them, but chances are, you are just a love struck teenager plagued with the virus known as infatuation.  You aren't going to marry them.  They probably aren't the one, and chances are, this relationship won't make it past the end of the school year.  Anyway, as teenagers, we probably aren't emotionally mature enough to really experience  this romantic love (except with Jesus, but that's less romantic...more just completely devotional).
Third, I do believe that people our age can experience love.  Notice how there is no "in".  I love people all the time.  I love my family, and I love my friends.  I would do so many things for them.  Unlike my favorite TV show, I would give them my kidney.  I do believe most people love their girlfriend/boyfriend.  Hopefully, you dated them after being friends.  And, I assume because you are dating, you consider them to be a VERY good friend.  I believe that "love" has been established here.  Not a romantic kind of love, but a friendshippy, sibling kind of love.  The kind that truly bonds people together.  This should always be established before anything romantic forms.

So next time you say you love something, why don't you sit back and think about it first.
~Twipi :D

Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Hunger Games

Considering I have finished the Hunger Games series, I would like to share my thoughts on some of the characters, and other things. But, since I tend to ramble, this will probably only cover a few characters. Also SPOILER ALERT!  If you haven't finished the series, I suggest you don't read this :)
First off...
PEETA!: I love Peeta!  I think he is a great guy, and he always truly cared about Katniss.  I reread the first two books again for school, and I realized, how many times has poor Peeta almost died!?  Seriously!  Like every chapter!  First, he's beaten by his own mother (it wasn't life threatening, but still...).  Second, he almost dies of blood poisoning in HG.Third, he gets his leg all cut up at the end of the Hunger Games, almost dying from blood lost.  Fourth, he stops breathing in CF.  Fifth, the government got Peeta and tracker jacked his mind, and he almost killed himself multiple times in MJ.  And I'm sure there are plenty more times...  This made me feel bad for Peeta.  Things never go well for him.  He has suffered a lot, and then he is sent to the horrible Hunger Games?  And, to make things worse, he loves Katniss, and most likely, one of them was going to die.  It is realyl tragic for him.  I'm glad he got Katniss at the end of the series.  She needed someone that wasn't so angry, someone who would help heal her.  And I'm really shocked he did end up with her.  I thought it was a lost cause when he almost killed Katniss.  So, I'm grateful that Suzanne Collins kept him alive and mostly healthy :)

Katniss:  Katniss is a very brave girl.  Some people get angry with her behavior in the second novel, but would you act any better?  She has seen numerous deaths, people all around her suffer, has been nearly killed herself, and now has to go back to the Games?  How could she even go on?  She is insanely brave.  And RUE!  The saddest death maybe in the whole series (Finnick and Cinna are up there too.  Prim was really sad, but I don't know, it just didn't touch me like the others did, which worries me.) What she did for her, it was incredible.  I feel so sorry that he had to be a puppet of the government so many times.  And then when she had the chance to lead a rebellion, her side ended up being as bad as the government was under Snow.   I don't blame her for killing Coin.

Gale:  I liked Gale in the first book, but as the series progressed, he made me pretty mad.  He is always so angry!  He doesn't look out for Katniss emotional wellbeeing often.  He just persuades her to fight the government.  Hasn't she suffered enough already?  In MJ, it made me very upset when Gale let all those people die in that avalance-blockade thing (I apologize, I don't quite remember what it was).  Then, he created that horrible bomb that most likely killed Rue.  It's all very sad.  If Katniss got with him, he would always have his anger in her heart, so it's best they didn't get together.  It also ticks me off that Gale totally blew off Katniss later in life.  He owes her.  Maybe that was his way of trying to help her, but he was probably wrong.  Once again, I like Peeta more :)  How many times did Gale almost die?  Like, two.  1) When he got whipped and 2) When District 12 was destroyed.   How many times did Peeta almost die?  At least 5!!!

This is all I'm going to write about this now. (even though I will probably continue in the future).  I would post a Hunger Games trailer I made, but I am worried about copyright issues.
~Twipi :D

About Me

Considering this is my first post, I decided that I would write a bit about myself maybe help you learn something about me.


  • I love to create.  I love to write, play instruments, make videos, and much more.  Every from of art is a special piece of self expression, and I want to share that.  
  • I've been writing a novel for a couple of years.  It's about a dystopian society.  I hope to finish it within the year, but with my short attention span, I doubt that will happen.
  • I have a fanfiction account! http://www.fanfiction.net/~twipi You should check it out :)
  • Even though I'm too old for it, I love a lot of Disney stuff.   My favorite TV show is Sonny with a Chance, and I love about any "Disney princess" movie.
  • I like the Hunger Games series, alot!
  • I really like Selena Gomez and Demi Lovato.  Selena is about the only untainted Disney girl out there, and I think it says something for a girl of 18 to have the strength to face her problems and go to a center to be treated for whatever she needs.  I have a lot of respect for Demi Lovato.
  • I love Martin Luther King Jr., Rosa Parks, Helen Keller, these are my role models.
  • I love Jesus!  And I'm not afraid to say so.
  • My celebrity crush is Sterling Knight, but Alex Pettyfer, Logan Lerman, Gregg Sulkin, Drew Roy, and Lucas Till aren't too bad either :)
  • I hope to be a social worker one day.
  • I love music!  I love Paramore, Flyleaf, Muse, Family Force 5, Evanescence, Hey Monday, Fireflight, about any kind of alternative music.
  • I don't like country music, sorry.
This is about all I can think of at the moment, but hopefully, now you know a little more about me :)